St. Jacobs Cathedral in Sibenik is a unique monument of sacral architecture, added to UNESCO's list of world heritage sights in the year 2000. The cathedral was built on the south side of the cities old central square. The idea of building a cathedral dates back to 1298 when Sibenik gained its own diocese and the status of a city.
Building of the cathedral only began in 1431 and lasted with a few pauses until 1536. Juraj Matejev Dalmatinac (Georfius Mathei Dalmaticus), was educated at the Arts Academy in Venice, and was invited to manage the building of the temple. A master in the late gothic era, he changed the original conception of the church, and under his direction the enclaves, the sanctuary, the apse which is decorated with 72 stone chiselled portraits of citizens who at that time lived in Sibenik and the sacristies were built. Making the cathedral even more magnificent is the fact that it was built entirely with stone, without using any other materials. Stone used for the cathedral was brought from the islands of Korčula, Susak, Brač, Rab and Krk. After the death of Juraj Dalmatinac, Nikola Firentinac continued with building (finishing the side enclaves, domes and the roof arches) in a renaissance style. After Firentinac's death in 1505, building of the cathedral was finished by Bartholomew and Giacomo de Mestre.
The baptistery, was made by Juraj Dalmatinac, and is located on the ground floor of the south apse. It is full of stone decoration, while the arch is decorated with a figure of God and angels.
Dátum je neplatný!
Vyberte dátum a počet osôb!
* ceny od jún 2016 pri maximálnej kapacite a minimálny pobyt 7 dní